PROCEEDINGS OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS SPECIAL MEETING, JANUARY 30, 2007

THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF CUSTER COUNTY MET IN A SPECIAL MEETING WITH THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS PRESENT:

Dick Downey Chairman
Kit Shy Vice-chair
Carole Custer Commissioner

Ric Ferron County Administrator Debbie Livengood Clerk to the Board

Also present was Christy Kesselring from the Zoning Office and Nora Drenner.

The meeting was called to order at 8:30am for the purpose of conducting interviews for those individuals that are interested in being appointed to the Planning Commission, Board of Zoning Adjustment, or as an alternate to either of these boards.

Christy Kesselring started each interview with stating what was involved with being appointed to either board as a member, or as an alternate. She explained that there are eleven site tours, eleven meetings, workshops, and information packets that need to be read and researched prior to the meetings. The Board explained that there would be a total of four questions asked of each person. The questions asked were: 1) How much time do you think it will take on an average each month to serve on this board? 2) Why do you want to serve on this board? 3) What strengths and background will you bring to this board? 4) What do you believe will be the most important land use issues within the next three years?

The six individuals interviewed were: Christy Veltrie, Rod Coker, Kenny Patterson, Lynn Attebery, Jim Jones, and Dave Tonsing.

The Board adjourned for a short break after the interviews.

The Board reconvened at 11:50am to discuss the interviews and make the needed appointments to each of the boards.

Commissioner Downey announced that there were three members of the Planning Commission whose terms had expired. They were Lynn Attebery, John Campbell, and Vic Barnes. All three of these individuals had submitted letters asking to be reappointed to the Board.

There was some discussion on the number of members needed on the Planning Commission.

<u>Commissioner Custer made a motion seconded by Commissioner Shy to change the</u> <u>number of members of the Planning Commission from six members to seven members.</u> <u>Motion carried unanimously.</u>

Commissioner Downey made a motion seconded by Commissioner Shy to reinstate Lynn Attebery, John Campbell, and Vic Barnes to the Planning Commission and to add Rod Coker to the Board as the seventh member. Mr. Coker's term will expire in 2009. Motion carried unanimously.

Those individuals whose terms expired on the Board of Zoning Adjustment are Bill Donley and Dorothy Nepa. Both submitted letters asking to be reappointed.

Commissioner Shy reported that he had contacted CCI and asked Chip to do some research concerning how other counties handle Board of Zoning Adjustment business in their counties. According to the information that Kit received back, half of the counties in Colorado responded with an answer. The responses varied with everything from they had a BZA Board, the commissioners were the BZA Board, or they did not have a BZA Board at all.

The C.R.S. states that each county will have a BZA Board. However, it does not have to be a board that is appointed. The commissioners may serve as the BZA Board.

Commissioner Shy stated that he thinks there should be a BZA Board. However, it needs to be made clear what each board does. He thinks the BZA Board should be meeting on an "as needed" basis. They have no reason to go on site tours unless there is an issue they will be making a decision on. The only members that need to go on the site tours are members of the board that will be making a decision.

Commissioner Downey agreed that all the board members sitting together in a joint meeting could be misleading. Those attending the meeting could possibly think that both the Planning Commission and the Board of Zoning Adjustment are making the decisions as a whole.

Christy suggested that the Boards have separate meetings. The BZA Board would only meet if there were an issue before them and the Planning Commission and the Board of County Commissioners would continue to have their joint meetings each month as needed.

Also discussed was the issue of missing more than three meetings during a calendar year and that being a reason to not reappoint an individual.

Commissioner Downey made a motion to reappoint Bill Donley to the Board of Zoning Adjustment. The motion failed since there was no second to the motion.

<u>Commissioner Custer made a motion seconded by Commissioner Shy not to reappoint</u> <u>Bill Donley or Dorothy Nepa to the Board of Zoning Adjustment.</u> Commissioner Shy and <u>Commissioner Custer both voted for with Commissioner Downey voting against. Motion</u> carried.

<u>Commissioner Custer made a motion seconded by Commissioner Shy continue with five members on the BZA Board and to appoint Cindi Howard and Dave Tonsing to the Board.</u> Motion carried unanimously.

<u>Commissioner Shy made a motion to appoint Jim Jones and Joe Arbuckle as alternates to the Board of Zoning Adjustment, and Sara Senderhauf, Kenny Patterson, and Christy Veltrie as alternates to the Planning Commission.</u>

Commissioner Custer made an amendment to the motion that Kenny Patterson, Jim Jones, and Joe Arbuckle be appointed as alternates to the BZA Board.

<u>Commissioner Downey made an amendment to the first amendment that all of the individuals mentioned in the motion be alternates to both boards instead of being separated into two categories.</u>

Commissioner Shy made a motion to accept the first amendment to his motion made by Commissioner Custer to have Kenny Patterson, Jim Jones, and Joe Arbuckle appointed as alternates to the BZA Board and to appoint Sara Senderhauf, and Christie Veltrie, as alternates to the Planning Commission. Commissioner Shy and Commissioner Custer voted for and Commissioner Downey voted against. The motion carried.

Christy Kesselring will notify each of the applicants of the decisions that were made.

The Board adjourned at 1:20pm.